Playwrights Logo

Our logo puts our very essence in the hands of those who shape it most directly: our playwrights. You’ll notice that our name is written many different ways, in the hand of the writers themselves. They make this company the institution that we’re proud to be, and we’re excited to highlight their distinct writing styles in our very name.

While our onstage offerings change each season, one constant holds: our steadfast commitment to championing the voice of the American writer. We foster an enticing mix — of voice, form, style, experience – that is the heartbeat of Playwrights. It’s the stuff that, throughout our history, has guided us as we present the stories of today by the writers of tomorrow.

Scroll to see how this season’s playwrights made their mark on our logo.

Craig Lucas


Larissa FastHorse


Heather Raffo


Tori Sampson


Halley Feiffer


Michael R. Jackson