Scott Elliot


SCOTT ELLIOT is the founding artistic director of The New Group, where he has directed and produced many plays including David Rabe'sHurlyburly (won a Lucille Lortel award and four nominations / four Drama Desk nominations), Wallace Shawn's Aunt Dan and Lemon, Trevor Griffith's Comedians, Deborah Brevoort's The Women of Lockerbie, Mike Leigh's Smelling a RatGoose-Pimples(three Drama Desk nominations), and Ecstasy (OBIE and SSDC's Calloway Award), Joe Orton's What the Butler Saw, Ayub Khan-Din's East is East, Rob Urbinati's Hazelwood Jr. High, Stephen Bill's Curtains (OBIE), and Ed Cachianes' Andrew After Dark. His Broadway credits include Noel Coward's Present Laughter, and with the Roundabout (where Scott is an Associate Artist), Clare Booth Luce's The Women (also filmed for PBS), and Chekhov's Three Sisters. Other credits include Christopher Kyle's The Monogamist  (Lucille Lortel award and Drama Desk nomination), the American premiere of Arthur Miller's The Ride Down Mt. Morgan, Jon Robin Baitz's The End of the Day, and Justin Bond and Kenny Mellman's Kiki & Herb: Coup de Théatre. He directed the feature film based on Jane Hamilton's novel, A Map of the World, starring Sigourney Weaver and Julianne Moore (National Board of Review award for excellence in independent filmmaking). (As of 2013)

Appears in
The Monogamist